Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Germany - Rothenburg ob der Tauber, or Neuschwanstein-opinions? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/germany-rothenburg-ob-der-tauber-or-neuschwanstein-opinions-955070/)

marciakaz Oct 29th, 2012 01:24 PM

Germany - Rothenburg ob der Tauber, or Neuschwanstein-opinions?
 
Given the choice of one or the other, which would you choose for a one day/one night stop on the way to Munich from teh Rhine Valley, and why? Traveling by train, but could opt for bus if it makes sense.

azzure Oct 29th, 2012 01:33 PM

I'd definitely choose Rothenburg. There's lots to do there; Neuschwanstein is beautiful from the outside but the interior is not all that historic or interesting. Rothenburg is an authentic medieval walled city; arguably the best one in Europe.

Dukey1 Oct 29th, 2012 01:35 PM

It would be easier to get to R-burg by rail (changing in Steinach) than to Neuschwanstein (by bus or taxi from somewhere like Fuessen).

R-burg used to be the number ONE tourist attraction for the Germans; some people think the town is overly commercialized and fakey but that's subkective. Neuschwanstein is very dramatic when viewed from the outside; IMO it is less interesting in terms of interior decoration than Linderhof and both suffer in comparison with the internal decoration of Herrenchiemsee.

brookums71 Oct 29th, 2012 01:48 PM

Rothenburg is amazing. We went to both on the same trip and I agree, the castle area is lovely, but Rothenburg is the real deal. Hit the road, though when all the tourists come in off the tour buses.

jeffergray Oct 29th, 2012 02:24 PM

I dissent! Yes, Rothenburg is the real deal, a beautifully preserved late medieval/early modern era town, still surrounded by its walls, but c'mon: Neuschwanstein is one of the iconic sights of Europe. The view from the bridge across the valley is deservedly a classic. And I've never forgotten what it was like to hike up the trail through the fir forests and suddenly see that ivory keep towering above me, with a backdrop of drifting wisps of fog. Also, I thought the interior was pretty cool, too. Yes, it's all just late Victorian fantasy, 1870's 1880's, but I loved the Byzantine-inspired throne room and the little grotto/study that King Ludwig created for himself. Besides, the castle of Hohenschwangau is nearby as well and can be done in the same visit. I visited it as a backpacking student, having taken the train down from Munich, and I don't recall it as being particularly hard to reach at all.

I did thoroughly enjoy Rothenburg, too, which I visited later in the same trip. Perhaps you could cut something else off your list, and then you could see them both!

latedaytraveler Oct 29th, 2012 02:58 PM

Jeffer wrote:

“Neuschwanstein is one of the iconic sights of Europe. The view from the bridge across the valley is deservedly a classic.”

Indeed, I believe that’s true, but on the day we visited in July 2008 there were torrential rains. We could not see the lake and surrounding vistas. Could only see the outside dripping walls as we waited in line. Inside rather interesting as described above.

The scary part was walking down that steep descent to the base. Never thought I would make it – even the railings were slippery as ice. Of course, I did not have the proper footwear on which made it worst. Whenever Neuschwanstein is mentioned, I think to myself, “I was there but didn’t see.”

In a word choose a clear day for that venture if possible. ..

Aramis Oct 29th, 2012 03:07 PM

R od T - hands down

artstuff Oct 29th, 2012 03:11 PM

I would choose Rothenburg obT, mostly because it's more on the path of your journey. While both places are equal in history and beauty, I believe staying in Rothenburg would give you more time to enjoy your visit, and less time on the train and bus.

Robyn :)>-

marciakaz Oct 29th, 2012 03:38 PM

Thanks, everyone! I will be seeing other castles--the Rheinfels ruins and Burg Eltz, so I was already leaning toward dropping Neuschwanstein from the itinerary. I definitly have to drop one or the other, and from these responses, I think Rothenburg will be a more unique and authentic experience. King Ludwig will have to wait for my next trip :)

Dukey1 Oct 29th, 2012 04:38 PM

There is nothing non-authentic about Neuschwanstein but it is simply ONE thing and not a bunch of different things as in R-burg.

LSky Oct 29th, 2012 04:48 PM

Good decision to go to R-burg. Take the nightwatch man tour and enjoy. You'll be happy you went.

nytraveler Oct 29th, 2012 04:53 PM

I would do Rothenburg - which is much more genuinely historic. While Neuschwanstein is iconic (and Disneyesque) it is really a modern building (1860's) built by a fairly harmless but unbalanced King of Bavaria. And if I were to visit one of his castles it would be the Linderhof or Herrenchiemsee vs Neuschwanstein

But can't help with transit or logistics - we did it all by car.

marciakaz Oct 29th, 2012 06:55 PM

Dukey1, poor choice of words on my part. I didn't mean to suggest that Neuschwanstein is inauthentic. It is of course authentic for what it is. Rothenburg's uniqueness in the context of my itinerary, plus it's relatively more convenient location is what won me over. Thanks again, everyone.

bigtyke Oct 30th, 2012 05:43 AM

Rothenburg would be my choice. We especially liked the Torture Museum.

If you do choose Neuschwanstein, be sure to reserve your tour in advance


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:52 PM.