Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

German wine/travel advice for 1st time to Europe

Old Sep 2nd, 2006, 08:47 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This message is reposted, using a different title.

I will be going to Germany for one week in late September and I need some travel advice. I'm completely new to traveling--I've never left N. America--so I'm trying to educate myself as much as possible about what to bring for clothes/shoes and spending money; I'm also trying to learn traveling etiquette. I am privileged (and grateful!) to have a German host (a long-time friend from grad school) for my first European experience. However, I'd like to educate myself as much as possible, so that I'm better prepared for the trip.
Having said that: Can any of you suggest whether I should buy a railpass ahead of time or is that not necessary? Does anyone consider a particular travel guide or German phrase book to be better than others? If so, which do you recommend that I buy? Also, I have a question about German wine...but I think I'll save that for another post.
Any info would be appreciated!
Old Sep 2nd, 2006, 04:15 PM

topping for a first-timer
Old Sep 2nd, 2006, 04:25 PM

This is difficult. At first i would say, don't worry about travelling to Germany, people are nice and helpful! Do you need a railpass? It totally depends where you want to go and how long you want to stay. You need to be more specific. Travelling in Germany is easy. It's the best country on this planet ;-). Wine = Riesling, not everywhere but again, where do you go...
Old Sep 2nd, 2006, 04:39 PM

I doubt you will need a rail pass. Where will you go while there?
Old Sep 2nd, 2006, 05:04 PM