Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   German rail 1st class vs 2nd class (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/german-rail-1st-class-vs-2nd-class-447644/)

Janedoeinnyc Oct 21st, 2008 06:27 PM

German rail 1st class vs 2nd class

I will be in Germany next month and have two long train rides, one 3 1/2 hour trip and a five hour trip. I'm wondering if I should splurge for first class or if second class is fine. This is my first time to Germany and I know nothing about the trains. Can someone advise me if spending the extra euros is worth it? What's the difference between first and second class?

Thanks!

Dutch Oct 21st, 2008 06:54 PM

Jane, I've done both and for me it's not worth it. First class is nicer, a bit more roomy, and more quiet.

In Germany 2nd class means a pretty high standard. Also, I like to talk to people and 2nd class gives me more opportunities. It's usually just as clean and always just as fast.

Poconolady Oct 21st, 2008 06:58 PM

We have done both 1st and 2nd class. The only reason that i would do 1st class again is if I had to tote around a bit of lugage. If all you have is a srandard suitcase, then I'd go for 2nd class.

KrisMom Oct 21st, 2008 07:11 PM

Jane, I just returned from Germany, and took the DB from Trier to Paris, second class...it was just great, and perfectly fine. It was diffrerent from what I expected, tho: I had traveled in Hungary and Austria last year and all the trains had compartments. This high speed did not, but the ride was smooth and quick,a nd second class was cool. There are spaces in the center of each car for luggage. I ended up " talking" to an 8 year old who wnated to practice his English...

scatcat Oct 21st, 2008 07:18 PM