Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Gatwick to Central London (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/gatwick-to-central-london-681322/)

rwhitlocksmith Feb 19th, 2007 05:42 PM

Gatwick to Central London

I'm meeting my sister in London in March. We are flying into separate airports---she's coming into Heathrow and I'm flying into Gatwick. We're meeting at our hotel, the Grange Holborn on Southampton Row. It's near the Holborn and Russell Square tube stations and the Euston and King's Cross Railway stations. It's my first time in London, and I'll be traveling with two small suitcases (one rolling, one carry-on)or one big suitcase. I'll be arriving at 7 am on a Tuesday morning. I'll probably be off the plane and through customs within an hour or two.

Thanks to these boards and the National Rail web-site, it looks like I've got a couple of options to get to our hotel:

1. Take the Gatwick Express (using the 50% off code) to Victoria Station. Walk 8 mins. to the Victoria Bus Station. Take Bus 38 to the Bloomsbury Square stop and walk 3 mins. to the hotel. That seems like a lot of walking with suitcases and during crowded rush hour streets, especially when I'm new to the city.

2. Take Gatwick Express to Victoria Station. Take a taxi to my hotel. Would it be a problem catching a taxi during rush hour at this station? How far is it to the hotel and would it be expensive?

3. Take the Southern train to London Bridge. Take a taxi to the hotel.

4. Take the Thameslink train to London Bridge, Blackfriars or King's Cross. Cab it to the hotel from London Bridge or Blackfriars? Or does the train travel directly to King's Cross? Is this the same King's Cross station close to my hotel? Can I walk from there to the hotel?

I know there are a lot of threads with similar questions but I'm still having trouble with all the options and geographies.

Thanks!
Robin