Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   From Edinburgh to London (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/from-edinburgh-to-london-1015022/)

Jeof May 22nd, 2014 06:06 AM

From Edinburgh to London

Hi! I am a student from the Philippines. I am attending a conference in Edinburgh, but I'd like to spend two days in London before going home. I was thinking of taking the East coast rail from Edinburgh to London, but I'm not sure which station in London should I get off. Could you please help me plan my trip to London to make the most of it? Could you also suggest some strategic place to stay in London where I can see most of the tourist sites. Thank you!

BigRuss May 22nd, 2014 06:33 AM

<<I'm not sure which station in London should I get off.>>

The terminus. Kings Cross. That's your only option.

<<Could you also suggest some strategic place to stay in London where I can see most of the tourist sites.>>

If you mean a single location close to all tourist sites, it won't happen. London is the largest city in Western Europe. The "tourist sites" are scattered throughout the city.

And until you say what you want to see and do, no one can help you plan for your interests.

dwdvagamundo May 22nd, 2014 07:34 AM

While we can't guess your interests, we can say that a strategic place to stay is one that is on the Tube line so you can get around easily. Kings Cross train station is also St. Pancras tube station and three lines intersect there. From a quick Google search, there appear to be a number of US chain style hotels hear there (Travelodge, Comfort Inn) that might suit you.

While it's not the most exciting area of London, it's convenient and (I think) safe enough. With just two days, I'd see what you can find around there.

dotheboyshall May 22nd, 2014 09:57 AM