Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   French Gov't bans the term "e-mail". (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/french-govt-bans-the-term-e-mail-338437/)

irishdame Jul 18th, 2003 08:37 AM

French Gov't bans the term "e-mail".

http://customwire.ap.org/dynamic/sto...p;SECTION=HOME

Thought everyone would get a kick out of this one!
%%-

Christina Jul 18th, 2003 09:01 AM

I don't think it's funny or odd for a govt. agency to define common terms in its documents, and I don't agree with the journalist on all points in that article. Actually, I think they use way too many English terms in France already, which always surprises me -- even when there are perfectly good French words available. The verb "stopper" is one I find odd, for example.

I've been using email in France for quite a few years and the term "courrier electronique" has been used frequently for years -- at least on the ISP I used, so my experience differs from that article which claimed that term was rarely used.

I've not encountered the term "courriel" but have encountered something stranger which is the word "mel" for email, with an accent aigu over the "e" so that it would sound like the English word mail. I wonder what their position is on that one? The OPera Garnier, for example, uses that term. I think "e-mail" is just a lot easier to write than courrier electronique and that's why it's being used more and probably why some are using "mel". I don't find anything wrong with the term courriel, though, sounds find to me.

capo Jul 18th, 2003 11:28 AM

Would they be OK with le-mail?

ira Jul 18th, 2003 11:33 AM

Hi

My French friends use "eml" (no accent) pronounced "eh-mail".

hanl Jul 18th, 2003 02:39 PM

They tried to get rid of the circumflex accents on certain words and the i in "oignon" too, but it didn't work.