France or Italy for a week in Feb.?

May 18th, 2006, 09:45 AM
Original Poster

France or Italy for a week in Feb.?

Hi everyone,

My mom and I are looking into taking a trip next February. (I am a teacher, so I can only travel on school vacation weeks.)

Right now, we are thinking of Paris and Rome. We would have a week. I have been to Paris before (for 4-5 days 12 years ago), and my mom has been to Rome for a long weekend (7 years ago.)

Which would you do, and why? Would you combine the 2 (say Paris and Venice or Paris and Rome), or maybe do Rome and Venice?

Also, right now, airfare is about $600 going to either Paris or Rome/Venice/Milan airports. Is that a fair price for a busy school vacation week (from Boston) in winter?
May 18th, 2006, 10:09 AM
rex

The fare you're talking about sounds like the AirFrance sale that ends tomorrow. They will actually allow a triangle itinerary on this fare, and it can include the segment between Paris and Italy.

So, the combine can be the same price as either alone.

Including some of Italy should provide some days with milder weather.

Best wishes,

Rex
May 18th, 2006, 10:17 AM

I have traveled to both Paris and Rome during the February school vacation week. Hard to choose between them for you, they are both wonderful. Rome was a little less cold, but not wonderful weather in either place in February. I have enjoyed trips that combined two cities, including a trip to Paris and Rome once in March, when I had eight nights. I don't know whether I would do it if I only had six nights, but if I had seven I might.

February vacation week is a very tough ticket from Boston, so I would not wait too long to book a fare. Air France is having a sale this week only, but when I checked it appeared that flights during February vacation were no longer available at the sale price.
May 18th, 2006, 10:24 AM