Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   France Bicyle Trip (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/france-bicyle-trip-849453/)

Fayew Jul 13th, 2010 03:26 PM

France Bicyle Trip

My family, including husband, and two sons (12 and 16) are planning a bicycle trip to France in June of 2011. Being a France travel novice I'm looking for advice on which region of France we should focus on for the trip. I want to stay away from the mountains (nope, not going to join 'le tour de France"! I am looking for trips that offer smaller, scenic towns, some castles/chateuas, and lovely views while riding. We are ok with rolling hills. Also, I'm going back and forth between doing a barge/bike trip with just a bike trip where the tour company transports your luggae. I'm currently looking at the 'tripsite.com' tour company. Any advice?

AlessandraZoe Jul 13th, 2010 03:54 PM

Loire Valley is good--nice mix of rolling hills once you climb out of river valleys and oodles of chateaus. Loved Normandy--bike is great way to do D-Day beaches. Coastal Brittany quite hilly, but loved Dinan, Cancale. Some great little bike trails there. Burgundy trails are pretty easy--great wine tastings. Perigord/Dordogne routes are hilly (BIG uphills) but loads of fun with lots of walled towns and castles.

We always do our own trips in US but do guided (not "self-guided") trips in Europe because a) we're not flying over and transporting via ground routes our own bikes and b) also quite frequently do not speak local lingo fluently nor have good knowledge of local emergency services. One of us has an accident or illness, without fail, on all of our trips.

FYI: Our day rentals in various places have given us pretty awful bikes.

Have never done anything through "tripsite.com."

Not that helpful in the way of info, I know! But...

...Good luck and go for it.

raincitygirl Jul 13th, 2010 04:27 PM