Florence or Rome? Sollo travel.

Old Jul 30th, 2000, 07:13 PM
Shirlene

Florence or Rome? Sollo travel.

Hi,
How interesting is this forum. I am learning a lot about Italy here. I am planning a trip to Italy, next october, to take an italian course. I have no knowledge of the language, and I will be travelling by myself. I am thinking about two weeks in Florence, and the last one in Rome - but I am afraid I am going to feel lost (& unsafe) in Rome. Should I stay in Florence all the time?
Thanks for the help!
Shirlene

Old Jul 31st, 2000, 02:33 AM
Jim

Florence is two days max. Its noisey crowded and feels anxouis. Rome is on the other hand comfertable with its self and has alot to see at a relaxed pace. Me and my wife were in Italy in May and we both felt safer in Rome.

Old Jul 31st, 2000, 04:14 AM
sally

i have to disagree. i was pickpocketed in rome just a couple of weeks ago and i saw several people harassed by gypsies. we have restaurants who "added" things to our bill and things were taken out of our hotel room in rome (at the excelsior, supposedly one of the best)---had to be the staff. i did not stay overnight in florence but i liked florence better than rome. not to say there aren't things you want to see and do in rome. but my next trip to italy will not include staying in rome more than a day or two at the most--possibly not staying there at all.

having said all of that, sounds like you are talking about three weeks. florence is a small town. i don't think you can spend more than three days just in florence but i think there is lots to see in some surrounding towns--but you probably need a car. rome of course is much larger and you can probably spend 4, possibly 5 days there assuming you've never seen any of the sights there.

Old Jul 31st, 2000, 04:29 AM
elaine

Hi