Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Florence or Cinque Terre (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/florence-or-cinque-terre-580291/)

devine_girl Jan 9th, 2006 06:34 PM

Florence or Cinque Terre

Greetings everyone,

I am a newbie to this site, as my husband & I are planning our first trip abroad to Italy June 22 - July 1. I am amazed with the thoughtful responses and discussions on this site, and am looking for some advice. Our current itinerary is flying into Rome (arriving 7:30a Friday 6/23) and departing Venice July 1st 6:30a.

If we squeeze in another destination, should it be Florence, or the Cinque Terre? My husband and I are not huge art fans, and I know we will already be seeing lots of it in Rome. I do not mean to sound disrespectful to the amazing art of Florence, just trying to be honest! Meanwhile we love the outdoors and the ocean.

I know we will be very busy squeezing in three destinations in 8 days, but we enjoy being on the go and this way we can decide where to come back and spend more time later!

Thank you in advance for your feedback.

LoveItaly Jan 9th, 2006 06:44 PM

Hi devine_girl, will you be travelling by car or train? You will have 8 nights and unless you want to really see CinqueTerre I would suggest that you visit Rome and than Venice. Understand that if you are not really into art (and not everyone is) that you do not have an interest in Florence and consequently I would not consider Florence this visit.