Flights to and from Florence

Sep 16th, 2009, 09:57 AM
Original Poster

Flights to and from Florence

Hi all - I am just beginning to plan a 15th anniversary trip to Tuscany next summer for my husband and me. I have already done lots of research on this board, but know I will have tons of questions.

First thing to do is book a flight - it looks like there are at least two ways to get from Houston to Florence. One is via Paris (on Delta/Air France), and the other is via Frankfurt (on United / Lufthansa). Layover in Paris (both ways) is just over an hour. Layover in Frankfurt (both ways) is just over two hours. Both options arrive in Florence about the same time, and have later flights to Florence if we miss the connection. It appears that if we miss the connection on the way back, we would have to wait until the next day to make the next connection.

So, my question is - is one hour long enough for a layover in Paris? Or is that risking a missed connection? And, which airline is better for overseas flights? We usually fly Continental, so haven't had much experience with any of these.

Thanks!

Carolyn
Sep 16th, 2009, 10:22 AM

We've flown Houston - Florence via FRA on LH and liked it fine. Our last 4 trips to Europe have been on LH and we've had very good experiences: efficient, friendly staff, very decent food and plenty of it, free drinks before during and after dinner, and good music selections (but not so great movies). No individual screens but that's not a big deal to us.

IMO, 1 hr isn't enough for CDG, but then I don't like that airport at all regardless of how much time I have.
Sep 16th, 2009, 10:32 AM

PS - the flights on LH will all be on LH metal. They codeshare with UA, but it won't be a UA plane.