Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Five nights in Siena or take two of those and stay in Cortona?

Jan 14th, 2001, 04:50 PM
judi

I thought I had my Italy trip all planned until I studied the map. My first thought was to spend five nights in Siena (coming from Florence) and day trip. Our next destination is Spello in Umbria. Rather than day trip to Cortona I'm thinking it would make more sense to stay in Siena three days and take the other two to stay in Cortona which would put us closer to Spello. Does anyone have any input on this dilemma? Thanks.

Jan 14th, 2001, 04:59 PM
cmt

I think it's worth staying overnight in Cortona. Early in the morning you can stand in a small square where at the edge of town and watch the mist rise out of the valley. There are not enough foreign tourists to completely overwhelm the town so in the evening you can see the natural life of the town, people gathering in the sqares, on the steps of churches and public buildings, at the cafes, etc. The town itself is appealing, and the area has Etruscan sites worth visiting and pretty countryside.

Jan 14th, 2001, 11:15 PM
Holly

Absolutely, spend 2 nights in Cortona! Siena is wonderful, but 5 nights is, in my opinion, way too long. It's a great base for daytrips, but so is Cortona. And Cortona is a wonderful gem in and of itself. Stay at the Hotel San Michelle, if available. ... Pick up some pine nuts while you're walking through the park and put them in your coat pocket. Then think about where you found them when you put that same coat on six months later...

Jan 15th, 2001, 12:45 AM
Meg