Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   fishing in scotland (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/fishing-in-scotland-204314/)

jennifer Apr 23rd, 2002 07:12 AM

fishing in scotland

Have any of you ever gone fresh-water fishing in Scotland? With a guide? Or stayed at a lodge/inn/hotel that specializes in this sort of thing? My husband and I are trying to put a trip together for next month(he's an avid fisherman, I am a beginner), and would love some advice. Thanks.

Dick Apr 23rd, 2002 07:33 AM

I have not fished in Scotland, but have traveled extensively to fish, from Alaska to Argentina and most places in-between. I strongly recommend you arrange for a guide, either through where you are staying or independently. Every fly fisherman, no matter how proficient, becomes a rookie as soon as he leaves his home water. More importantly, a guide will save you invaluable time by ensuring you have access to the water and are using the correct methods, which vary considerably from place to place. Remember that most water, and all good water, in Scotland will be private whether posted or not. Your guide will have made prior arrangements with the landowners, and that's part of what you're paying him for.<BR><BR>There is an extensive network of fly fisherman and outfitters/guides that you can access through www.flyshop.com. Go to the "International" bulletin board there and try posting your question - you should get lots of info from individuals who have personal knowledge of what you are trying to arrange. Note that one month is very short notice - I book most of my trips from 6 months to a year in advance. Not that it can't be done, but getting to the good water will require some hard work and a bit of luck, which I hope you will have.

Sheila Apr 23rd, 2002 08:43 AM