Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page > First trip - Italy and Greece - some advice on what to cut?

First trip - Italy and Greece - some advice on what to cut?

May 23rd, 2006, 10:39 AM
Original Poster

First trip - Italy and Greece - some advice on what to cut?

Hi!
This is my first time posting here. I am planning a trip to Greece and Italy this summer, july and august. I am so excited, this trip has been a dream of mine for several years. We have 26 days. I had made up an itinerary... but I think it is too much, and I need help figuring out what to cut. Any advice?

Here are the places we currently want to go:
Venice, Cinque Terre, Florence, Rome, Amalfi Coast, Santorini, Athens.

We need to determine what our base will be on AC.. thinking maybe Sorrento? SUggestions? Also, we want to go to Pompeii from there, as well as possibly Capri if we have time.

Here is what I have tentatively so far:

13-Jul Depart Home
14-Jul 6:00 am Arrive Frankfurt, 9:00ish depart on O/N train to Venice
15-Jul Arrive in Venice in early am. O/N in venice hotel
16-Jul O/N in Venice
17-Jul spend day in Venice exploring. Depart on O/N train to La Spezia/Cinque Terre
18-Jul Arrive Cinque Terre
19-Jul O/N CT
20-Jul O/N CT
21-Jul Depart CT, Arrive Florence, O/N Florence
22-Jul Depart Florence, Arrive Rome, O/N Rome
23-Jul O/N Rome
24-Jul O/N Rome
25-Jul Depart Rome. Arrive Amalfi Coast (Sorrento?), O/N Amalfi Coast
26-Jul O/N Amalfi Coast
27-Jul O/N Amalfi Coast
28-Jul O/N Amalfi Coast
29-Jul Depart Amalfi Coast (early morning). Arrive Brindisi. Catch Ferry to Greece.
30-Jul Arrive Greece. Depart for Santorini. O/N Santorini
31-Jul O/N Santorini
1-Aug O/N Santorini
2-Aug O/N Santorini
3-Aug O/N Santorini
4-Aug Depart for Athens. O/N Athens
5-Aug O/N Athens
6-Aug Depart Athens 12:00pm (check in between 10-11:30). Arrive Milan 1:30pm. O/N Milan
7-Aug Depart Milan 6:30am. Arrive Frankfurt 10:00am (I think). O/N Frankfurt