Reload this Page >

First Time to Paris - Family of Five

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 21st, 2002, 12:48 AM
Sarah

Good Morning. We are a family of five (two adults, three pre-teen children)planning to spend 9 nights total in Paris. This will be the first time there for all of us. We have been to London and Rome though so we do understand about European hotel rooms. I read the posts regarding the arrondisements and which web sites to use to find a hotel. However, is there one particular area for complete novices that is best. Or is any hotel in the 1st-8th equally suitable in terms of walking to major sites. We look forward to taking the metro to sites farther away. We are staying 9 nights to ensure that we aren't rushing to see everything. We all enjoy soaking in the atmosphere and strolling, eating, or playing in parks. So basically my question is - what is the ideal place for a family to stay? Thank you.

Old Feb 21st, 2002, 02:52 AM
Gretchen

You might want to consider an apartment rental. We met a couple at dinner who were staying at the Citadines St. Germain and went to see their studio apt. It was very nice--you would probably need a 1 BR. It was right on the Quai Grand Augustins looking at the river and Notre Dame.

Old Feb 21st, 2002, 03:02 AM
Ruth

I don't know Paris well, but we stayed there in Jan 2002, near the Jardin du Luxembourg - that was a good area for us with one child. The Jardin has a good playground (small charge for playground entry) as well as pony rides and model boats for hire. It was also close to the main sights. I would say that the left bank has more interest for kids than the right bank - but others may disagree. In any case you will be able to go all over by metro and bus. Ages 4-13 (I think) get reductions on tickets. Cite des Enfants at La Villette looked like a good way to spend a day (we didn't have time, unfortunately).

Old Feb 21st, 2002, 06:01 AM
scott