First time to Alsace-Lorraine, France

Apr 20th, 2007, 08:26 PM
Original Poster

First time to Alsace-Lorraine, France

My husband is going to Stasbourg, France for business. I get to tag along without two small children. While in Stasbourg I will be on my own during the day, evenings with my husband. We plan on taking three-four extra days for ourselves maybe going to Germany, Austria, maybe Switzerland ???. This is my first time abroad. Rather clueless to what I need to do or COULD do to plan the trip (aside from passport & flight). We are outdoorsy people (mountain biking, hiking, running). We are simple, not expensive taste people. I would be interested in less populated, unique, historical, villages, winerys, ....kinda get the idea? I have read about Colmar and it intrigues me. I look forward to the wine road between Stasbourg and Colmar. Any additional information would be greatly appreciated to help me hone my daily destinations. Should I purshase a Eurorail pass versus the cost of simply traveling without, how much usage would justify the expense?
Thank bunches
Apr 20th, 2007, 09:15 PM

Colmar is a wonderful base for exploring the area. This thread should help you get started with ideas. For additional info on Alsace, just input COLMAR, or STRASBOURG in the search box at the top of the screen, scroll to FRANCE and search the many threads that exist for this part of France.

http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...=2&tid=3492675

Suggest you visit your local library, check out a couple of travel books to supplement what info you get on Fodors, and re-post with add'l questions as you proceed. It will help if we know what month you're traveling, OK?
Apr 20th, 2007, 09:33 PM

Dont miss the Mont Sainte Odile.
Apr 21st, 2007, 03:03 AM

If you like the outdoors, first buy a detailed IGN map. These maps have all hiking trails. You can get them at gas stations, supermarkets and bookstores.