Reload this Page >

first time in italy - christmas

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 1st, 2001, 10:24 PM
Kim

Hello everyone, this is my first time in this forum. We are spending Christmas (my parents and my sister's family including a baby) in Italy. We arrive on Dec 23rd in Rome. Our plan is to rent a car around 25th or 26th to spend a night or two in San G. or Florence and drive on to Venice for two days before coming home to New York. We simply do not have enough days there, but I really want our parents to get a taste of Italy. They have never been out of the country, and this trip is a far-fetched dream for them, so I want everything to be perfect. Would Rome be fine during Christmas? Is it a better idea to move onto San G on 25th? I am worried about 25th and 26th, which according to some information seems just rather dead cities over there. I would really appreciate any suggestions.

Old Nov 4th, 2001, 07:16 AM
Casey

Kim: <BR>We were in Italy for Christmas last year and here's what I would suggest. I would skip the car & Florence and fly or take the train to Venice. Feast of San Stefano is December 26 and there is a festival in Venice at Campo San Stefano every year. If you want your parents to have a taste of the Italian countryside ala San G., you can rent a car for the day in Venice and drive up to Asolo for lunch. Ca'Derton is excellent and the restaurant at Hotel Villa Cipriani is very good as well. Arrange all rental cars in advance, even for one day. We had to rent one for a day sort of last minute and it ended up costing us $400.00. You are right about lots of things being closed. I would try to make as many reservations in advance as possible. This is against our grain but necessary if you want to eat since so many places are closed or overbooked with Americans. E-mail me if you have any more questions.

Old Nov 6th, 2001, 10:21 AM
Kim