Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Fastest way from Heathrow to Waterloo Station?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 27th, 2001, 11:49 PM
Anna

I've searched the boards, but haven't found a answer to my question. My flight arrives at Heathrow at 6:30am. My friend and I want to take the chunnel to Paris, which is in Waterloo station. What is the cheapest way? What is the fastest way?<BR><BR>Should I use the tube or the Heathrow Express which ends up in Paddington Station?<BR><BR>This is my first time to London, so what would be the wisest way for me to travel?<BR><BR>

Old Dec 28th, 2001, 02:17 AM
andrew

Anna - The cheapest way is to go by tube - buy an "all zone travelcard" - it will cost you about GBP5 (approx USD7). Take the blue line(called the Piccadilly line) eastbound to Green Park station change to connect with the silver line (called the Jubilee line) southbound to Waterloo station - total travel distance will be about 1 hour (but allow 1 hour 30). <BR><BR>The fastest way is the Heathrow Express which will cost GBP15 (USD21) to take you to London Paddington station in 15 minutes. The tube journey (cost GBP1.50 for a Zone 1 single) then from Paddington to Waterloo by the brown line (Bakerloo line) southbound is about 20 minutes. (allow 1 hour for the whole journey)<BR><BR>Of course other options are to take a cab. If you are arriving at 6.30am though the journey will take you well over an 1 hour (possibly 2 hours) as traffic will be horrendous then coming in to London. It will also cost anything up to GBP40 (USD56) <BR><BR>My advice is if you can afford it take the Heathrow Express and then the tube from Paddington. Although it is more expensive, it is a lot more comfortable after your long flight<BR><BR>Hope this helps<BR>Andrew<BR>

Old Dec 28th, 2001, 05:12 AM
Patrick