Fashionista

Jul 27th, 2006, 07:01 AM
Original Poster

Fashionista

I know some of you may think I'm being ridiculous, however.... I hate standing out and like to fit in as much as possible (I know -- a camera can be a dead giveaway) but it's my first time to Prague and I was wondering what the fashion is there. I know there are lots of cobblestone streets and high heels would be an out, but what else? I'm going in the middle of August and I think the weather is like high 60's. Any help would be appreciated.
Jul 27th, 2006, 07:12 AM

Are they still doing the 'maroon' hair there ?? That was big for a while.
Jul 27th, 2006, 08:07 AM

Because of it Communist past, the people of Prague are not as fashionable as their big-city counterparts in New York, London, Paris, Munich (everybody's got pop music). You will see lots of poorly cut clothes made of cheap material, and shoddy sandal-like shoes.

Prague really isn't a place where you have to dress up. I have seen diners in some of Pragues best restaurants in shorts and trainers, even baseball caps.

If you really want to fit in, try to look as proletarian as possible. I am not joking.

You will see some very well-dressed people on Pariska Street, which is kind of like the Madison Ave. of Prague. Here you will find shops such as Louis Vuitton and Armani. Trendy fashionistas seem to dine at Pravda, which is located here.

Don't look too rich whilst riding the Metro. You will feel very self-conscious.

Kevin Mitford
Jul 27th, 2006, 10:08 AM

I recently returned from a three week trip to Denmark, Berlin, Munich, Krakow, Budapest, Prague and Vienna and a month-long stay in Germany. I dress like a slightly chubby, frumpy 70-year-old retired English teacher. Ultra-comfortable black SAS shoes, mostly black pants with colorful tops, big ole bag which holds all my goodies.

The result is that I am frequently asked for directions--perhaps twice a month on this trip. Apparently I look like a fairly approachable local.