Fans of London and Paris book shops

Old Nov 11th, 2020, 06:14 PM
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 67,482
Likes: 0
Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Fans of London and Paris book shops

Both the beloved Shakespeare & Company in Paris, and Stanford's truly fabulous travel book shop in London are really struggling because of covid. Shakespeare has a 'friends of' website and Stanford's has a crowd funding campaign

https://friendsofshakespeareandcompany.com
https://payitforward.london.gov.uk/support-stanfords

And the terrific Heywood Hill in Mayfair has several customized 'Year in Books' schemes where you can subscribe and they send books worldwide (after consulting on the types of books you enjoy)

https://www.heywoodhill.com/subscriptions
janisj is online now  
Old Nov 11th, 2020, 11:56 PM
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi! Yes, they are indeed promoting online on their website. I saw it yesterday; you can also be a member online.
Shakespeare and Co is a nice place. I always refer as the kingdom of books.
angelabella1038 is offline  
Old Nov 14th, 2020, 06:03 PM
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10,310
Received 25 Likes on 3 Posts
I had to choose so I chose Stanford's. I'd be bereft if they weren't there with my walking supplies, whether I make it back or not. I figure Shakespeare & Co. might be the romantics' choice & there are loads of Paris-loving romantics out there.

Now we need to hunt down struggling bookshops in our own neighborhoods & do the same for them.
MmePerdu is online now  
Old Nov 17th, 2020, 12:37 PM
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I like Foyles. ❤🤩❤❤🤩❤

Thin,aristocrat ⛈
Pepper_von_snoot is offline  
Old Nov 18th, 2020, 10:47 AM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 22,527
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
According to the press in Paris, Shakespeare & Co. may be going out of business. Not a great loss for Parisians but perhaps tragic for certain tourists. Much worse, Gibert Jeune, the huge bookstore institution at Place Saint Michel might also be closing. Its buiilding has been sold, and it might be evicted.

I also love Foyles because London doesn't have FNAC.
kerouac is offline  
Old Nov 21st, 2020, 10:40 PM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,420
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by janisj View Post
Both the beloved Shakespeare & Company in Paris, and Stanford's truly fabulous travel book shop in London are really struggling because of covid. Shakespeare has a 'friends of' website and Stanford's has a crowd funding campaign

https://friendsofshakespeareandcompany.com
https://payitforward.london.gov.uk/support-stanfords

And the terrific Heywood Hill in Mayfair has several customized 'Year in Books' schemes where you can subscribe and they send books worldwide (after consulting on the types of books you enjoy)

https://www.heywoodhill.com/subscriptions
Also, please support wonderful Second Shelf and order here:
https://www.thesecondshelf.com/
menachem is offline  
Old Nov 22nd, 2020, 05:18 PM
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 4,737
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I would be sad if they closed Kerouac. They have the best kids corner and have bought some of the sweetest books. Books and Books is my fav in Key West and they don't charge to ship media rate.
Macross is online now  
Old Nov 28th, 2020, 11:17 AM
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Shakespeare & Co. package just arrived!
annw is online now  
Related Topics
Thread
Original Poster
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ribeirasacra
Europe
6
Aug 11th, 2015 10:14 AM
zuzuspetalz
Europe
21
Jun 27th, 2008 02:53 PM
andrearkline
Europe
9
Jan 26th, 2005 02:56 AM
Tia
Europe
12
Sep 10th, 2003 08:12 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Do Not Sell My Personal Information


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:17 PM.