Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Extremely Avid photographer - Car or Trains for Swiss Bernese Oberland ??

Old Feb 8th, 2011, 01:45 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am an avid landscape photographer ... Not a professional ... but pretty close ... OK, I am tooting my horn, I am good but not THAT good ... Just that I cannot stress enough how important photography is to me ...

I have been to Europe four times, stayed for 3 months in Italy one of the times ... I have ALWAYS driven ... Been to Spain, Italy, Austria and small parts of FRance, Germany and Slovenia ...Only took the trains in Spain but even there I had a car for 4 days in the white towns ... But never used the trains in Italy, France, germany, austria,... there is such a charm to driving in these countries ...I LOVE the flexibility of stopping anywhere for a photo, going to very remote and less touristy places, changing things on the fly to be able to catch the perfect sunrise or sunset ...I always travel with my wife and son, so I like to balance family time with photography ...

This is my first time to Switzerland and i have been wanting to go forever ... I plan to dpesn 8 days or so in Bernese Oberland and Zermatt ... I plan to stay in Lauterbrunnen/ Wengen/Murren for 5-6 days and then in Zermatt for two ...