Reload this Page >

Experienced Traveler; Inexperienced ATM user

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 28th, 2000, 06:27 PM
Rudy

Right up front: I have very little experience using an ATM card. I hardly ever use them in the U.S., and overseas I have always converted travelers' checks in banks or used my charge card. On this trip to Spain, however, I'm going to try to use my ATM card (PLUS). Now here come the basic questions: Do the machines there work just like the machines here? Are there English instructions? What do you do if your card doesn't come back or you don't get the right amount of money? Any other tips I should know about? Thanks to any of you who are kind enough to help this neophyte in international electronic banking.

Old Jan 28th, 2000, 06:52 PM
the turnip

I'm with you Rudy. I have NEVER used my ATM card here in the USA. Ever. However, on our last three trips to Europe that's all we've used. We have had very little if any problems. Here are a few suggestions. <BR> <BR>1. Bring both a VISA and a Mastercard. Every once in awhile we hit a spot that would accept one and not the other, or one would work and not the other. Bring both and cover yourself. <BR> <BR>2. Make sure you have a 4 digit PIN number. <BR> <BR>3. Almost every ATM has English instructions. If one eats your card, call the card company. <BR> <BR>4. The smaller the town the better chances are you'll have trouble finding a machine. Try not to run to low on cash when out in the boonies, so that you can avoid getting stuck with little or no access to cash. <BR> <BR>Hope this helps and hope your trip is a great success. <BR> <BR>

Old Jan 28th, 2000, 06:52 PM
Bob Brown