Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Expats with young children, how did you do it?

May 10th, 2011, 01:05 PM
Original Poster

We're not even close to moving anywhere as we've committed to be in Texas for a few more years. However, we're discussing, researching, saving, planning and hope to fulfill a common goal of living overseas at some point. Hubby said he'd choose Rome, while I'd choose Paris. Though we haven't been there yet, we'd both entertain London or its' countryside.

I'd always thought I'd prefer an island nation, but after three trips to Europe, I think there would be more than enuff opportunity (economically, socially, culturally, etc.) for both me and my husband. He'd likely be bored without museums, major sporting venues, etc. I'm a journalist and he is in IT, but has done quite well trading stock as sort of a hobby/back-up career choice.

By the time we move, we'll be a family of 3-4, including a 5-year-old (our first child is due in any day now) and a toddler (Lord-willing). We are very open to homeschooling, but having the option of enrolling children in public/private school would be okay, too.

Long story short, I'm curious to know the following:

1) How did you narrow your destination?

2) What made you go ahead and take the plunge?

3) What (employment, residential, financial) hurdles did you face, if any?

4) How did you prepare your little ones and how have they adjusted?

5) Did you know or learn another language before moving?

Feel free to share any other thoughts, advice, warnings, or reality-checks. ;-D

TIA,
cdg
May 10th, 2011, 01:15 PM

Wonderful dream, but...

First reality check - you can't just up and move to another country. You have to have employment there or prove that you have enough money to be there for whatever period you're contemplating, and, depending on the country, you can face an enormous amount of paperwork/red tape.