Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   European City on a Budget of 1200USD in 4 Days (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/european-city-on-a-budget-of-1200usd-in-4-days-923419/)

nadinedelute Feb 10th, 2012 06:03 AM

European City on a Budget of 1200USD in 4 Days

Hi guys, I'm planning to travel to Europe this Sept 25- October 1. However, I haven't figured out which country I would go to. This is my first time to travel alone internationally. I'm a female 26 years-old.

I have 3 cities shortlisted:

1. Prague
Airfare is more expensive than Paris
Hostels and food is cheaper than Paris

2. Paris
Airfare is cheaper compared to Prague
Hostels and food are more expensive than Paris
Have some friends who went there already so it's easier to get some tips

3. Munich (particularly Fussen)
Airfare is cheaper than Prague, similar to Paris
Don't really want to spend time in Munich so I have to travel further to Fussen
Expensive City

I really want to see castles like a lot of people do. However, I'm very much aware that due to the budget and time constraint, I can only go to one city. Can anyone please help me which place would be best to go for a newbie like me? I mean, I'd very much appreciate if you'd share your opinions which city is more easy to navigate.

LBloom Feb 10th, 2012 06:16 AM

Paris, if you have to choose only one go to Paris, you won't regret it.

doug_stallings Feb 10th, 2012 06:18 AM

If the price excludes airfare but includes hotels and other expenses, then you can do any of the three cities if you budget carefully. If the price includes airfare, you can't do any of the three cities on this budget.

But for castles, I think Munich is a much better choice. There are many actual castles within a short trip, and you can do everything by public transit ... and you can also go to either Switzerland for a day-trip or Salzburg for an overnight.