Europe Trip Itinerary Advice/Criticism

Oct 13th, 2012, 12:01 PM
Original Poster

Europe Trip Itinerary Advice/Criticism

Greeting all. Here’s my updated European itinerary. I’m beginning my travels mid-December and I’m dedicating 8/9 weeks. I feel I’ve got a good itinerary except for the ending. I had Spain in originally, but thought maybe I should focus on spending more time in the cities I listed. I’m just not sure. I welcome any advice/critiques, and I’m open to making adjustments.

A little about myself, I’m a 26y/o male; never been out of the states, and giving up a good job to fulfill my life goal of backpacking thru Europe. Hoping it will be very liberating! I’ll be traveling solo and I’m a musician, and an art and history lover. Looking to get out of my comfort zone and meet new people.

I plan on getting a Eurail Pass. I figured I would need the 5 countries pass, but not sure on the travel days. 8 days within 2 months or 10 days within 2 months.

Dec 17-23: London (7 nights)
Dec 23-2: Amsterdam (8 nights) ---Visiting friends south of Amsterdam also
Jan 2-7: Paris (5 nights)
Jan 7-10: Berlin (4 nights)
Jan 10-14: Prague (4 nights)
Jan 14-17: Munich (4 nights)
Jan 17- 20: Zurich (3 nights)
Jan 20-24: Venice (5 nights)
Jan 24-29: Rome 6 nights)
Jan 29- 1: Naples?????
Feb 1- 13: Spain???????
Oct 13th, 2012, 12:31 PM

anthony - let me preface this by saying that I never did this type of trip, so i'm not in a strong position to advise you.

But - i think that you will find these 3-4 night stays pretty bitty and in the end frustrating. also if you aim at making any human connections, they are going to be pretty short-lived.