Europe in winter

Apr 1st, 2007, 02:02 AM
Original Poster

Europe in winter

Hi there! Am new to this site, never travelled to Europe (I have limited travel experience) but keen to get as much advice as possible.
My husband and I would like to take our boys, 16 yrs and 21 yrs to Europe, first time for all of us - two major problems, we wont have much time there, only about 3 weeks (work commitments back in Australia) and the only time we can make the trip within the next 12 months is December 2006/ January 2007.
We have plenty of stamina, quite happy to cram in as much as possible (husband and I can come back later and do it at a more leisurely pace!!) The boys would like to see as many "landmarks" as possible - just to say they've seen them! England, France, Italy, Germany. Besides the tourist haunts, 16 yo definitely wants to watch a soccer (football?) match in England. Husband has also expressed interest in Mercedes and Porsche factories/museums, and Amalfi Coast (anything to do with boats!). I would like to see a bit of the countryside, visit Bath in England etc etc. Wont worry about too many musuems, performing arts on this trip.
Would prefer to travel by ourselves or in a small group for designated tours.
First big question - are we mad to even contemplate doing the trip in the northern winter? We can handle the cold but are we likely to be snowed in, face traffic chaos, closure of tourist haunts etc etc?
Secondly, any suggestions on how I can achieve as much as possible in this short time? If necessary, the boys might stay on in Germany with friends (21yo wants to visit Berlin Wall, etc).
I will work with a travel agent here in Perth, Australia but would love any advice from Fodorites.
Regards
Susi
Apr 1st, 2007, 02:34 AM
Original Poster

Ooops - reply to self - of course I meant December 2007/Jan 2008 (the years are flying past!) If I can't get the years right - how on earth am I going to get the whole trip sorted?? Help!
Apr 1st, 2007, 02:43 AM