Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   England + Wales Itinerary (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/england-wales-itinerary-289561/)

Raven01 Jan 21st, 2008 04:53 PM

England + Wales Itinerary

Hello!

I'm new here, but am hoping to take advantage of the wealth of knowledge and experience. I'm planning a trip to England, Scotland, Wales, and possibly Paris with my 50-something mother. This will be her first trip abroad (she's not traveled much). I studied abroad and am comfortable in new places, but I'm trying to keep in mind it is a vacation :)

We're planning to go sometime in 2009. Obviously, I have time to research, but opinions on what month to go would be great -- we're aiming for not too hot, but not too crowded, and I was thinking March/April (though I'm slightly concerned with the Easter holiday.

Anyway, here's our current itinerary. Please let me know if this is reasonable, or if I should adjust. Just being there will please my mother, so I'm not worried about missing anything huge -- just about experiencing the country.

Day 1: Arrival after night flight/London (Big Ben, Parliament, Westminster)
2. London (Tower, St Pauls)
3. Oxford
4. Cotwolds Drive (renting a car from Oxford)
5. Cardiff
6. Edinburgh (flight from Cardiff)
7. Edinburgh
8. York
9. London (Harrods, Buckingham, Museum, Covent Garden, possible show)
10. Paris
11. Paris
12. Flight home

janisj Jan 21st, 2008 06:20 PM

Welcome aboard!

Sorry, but I think that is avery fractured and hectic schedule. Especially for someone who has never been to Europe.

You are staying overnight in 7 different cities in 4 countries in 12 nights. Places like Cardiff, Edinburgh and York will have you spending more time in transit than touring the cities.