Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

England for one week in mid-May for a student

Apr 8th, 2002, 11:39 PM
Parikh

Alright, I think I'm finally gonna try to splurge and go for a week or so in England right after school gets out. I'm a university student here in the US, and I was wondering if a week was enough to see a good portion of England, or if I should just confine myself to London and the suburbs. I know that it is obviously impossible to see everything in any given period of time, but this time I'll basically be a tourist, hitting all the major points. What would be the best plan for such a trip?

Thanks.

Apr 9th, 2002, 12:00 AM
sylvia

Personally, I'd stick to London if you've only a week. You could possibly have a day at Windsor or a morning or afternoon at Hampton Court. There's just so much to experience in London that I'd not dilute it.

Apr 9th, 2002, 02:49 AM
meg

Hi Parikh
You don't mention your interests. Will you enjoy the museums and galleries? If so, you'll have lots to do in London! Would you like to see a different part of the country outside the capital? If so, a trip to Warwick or Stratford upon Avon will take about 1-2 hours each way by train. Windsor and Hampton Court are very pleasant but will be very busy in mid-may with school parties, both English and french/italian kids. Bath is also very beautiful and easily accessible by train from London.

Apr 9th, 2002, 05:29 AM
Vita

Parikh, I'm also doing a week in England next month. I'm just doing London with a couple of day trips. One day will be with Stonehenge tours to see Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, Avebury, and Sarum Castle. It will only give me a taste of those places, but that's all I really want. I'm also doing another (long) day trip to York.

Apr 9th, 2002, 06:20 AM
xxx

Parikh,