Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page > Driving from Barcelona to south of France esp Limosin, Dordogne

Driving from Barcelona to south of France esp Limosin, Dordogne

Apr 1st, 2010, 01:04 PM
Original Poster

Driving from Barcelona to south of France esp Limosin, Dordogne

Hi We are planning a vacation at the end of Sept. Landing in Barcelona, spending a couple of days and picking up a car. We will be traveling about 2 wks.. Plan to take in some of Languedoc-Roussillon, Limousin-Dordogne and the French Pyrenees. Is that too much for 2 weeks? Recommendations for places to see, especially Lascaux and the area around there. Not interested in big cities, prefer small towns and the mountains. We are experienced travelers and do not like to make reservations. Any assistance is helpful as I am just beginning to plan.
Thanks
Apr 1st, 2010, 01:58 PM

Yes, it's too much to see. But first of all, in case this is your plan, you do not want to pick up a car in Spain and drop it off in France - huge drop-off fee. You won't need a car in Barcelona, so once you're done there, take a train to Toulouse or Bordeaux or even Perpignan or Narbonne. Head north, spending a few days in Languedoc-Rousillon (Carcassone and surrounds), and end up near Sarlat and spend a week there. There are countless threads here on Fodors about the Dordogne and Languedoc-Roussillon - you can do hours of research just reading posts here. There are no mountains in the Dordogne, BTW, just hills. I would forget the Pyrénées for this trip, or else forget the Dordogne or Languedoc.
Apr 6th, 2010, 04:18 PM

Alan: