Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Dream Trip: 30 days in Great Britain part 2: Paris via Dover? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/dream-trip-30-days-in-great-britain-part-2-paris-via-dover-910185/)

flagmom Oct 24th, 2011 12:34 PM

Dream Trip: 30 days in Great Britain part 2: Paris via Dover?

I really want to see Dover Castle and the WWII tunnels, and would like to see Canterbury as well. There is a day-long coach tour from London that visits Canterbury, Dover Castle and Greenwich, returning to London by boat.
Instead, how practical or difficult would this be to do on my own via train on the way to Paris the day we leave London? I'm a newbie about rail travel.

alanRow Oct 24th, 2011 12:45 PM

Greenwich is in London - it's a short train, Tube, DLR or boat ride from central London.

Whilst getting to Canterbury & Dover by train isn't difficult (take the fast train from St Pancras) the problem is that there's nowhere to leave luggage. If you want to use Eurostar to travel onto Paris then you get one of the few trains per day from Ashford - which isn't too far from Dover / Canterbury or more likely return to London or Ebbsfleet.

There are ferries from Dover to Calais which take foot passengers - but then you'd have to get to the station at Calais for the train to Paris.

And to repeat - there's nowhere to leave luggage at either Canterbury or Dover

PalenQ Oct 24th, 2011 12:55 PM

Go to Ashford International train station, store your bags there if possible and I believe it is - take the to Canterbury and Dover and back to Ashford International then hop the Eurostar to Paris in just about two hours. Best time-wise.

alanRow Oct 24th, 2011 01:05 PM

No left luggage facilities at Ashford