Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Dream is to go to Greece...but don't know where to start?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 1st, 2008, 10:12 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone...

This site was immensely helpful 2 yrs ago when hubby and I took our first trip to Italy...so thank you!

We now have the option of taking another trip, and my dream is Greece. Now bare in mind...I know NOTHING of this country..and have NO idea where to start?? I don't know the islands, and feel so overwhelmed even beginning my search..so I thought I'd try here!

What we like....
We would love something not too touristy, where we can find amazing natural foods, drinks, maybe some kind of cooking class/tour? We love architecture and art and anything historical...

Where do I begin? We're also thinking of some kind of cruise..maybe going to Turkey as well?

Our plan is to go mid Dec-Jan. I'm a nursing student, so time is limited...

If anyone could even help me have an idea of where to begin, that would be great!!

Thanks a lot!

Samantha
Old Oct 1st, 2008, 10:42 PM

If you look at the posts on this board for Greece, I think you'll find most people go to Greece during warm months. Certainly for the islands, December and January would not be the best time as most hotels and restaurants are closed. Even Athens has something of a winter. I'm not a cruise person, but you might want to see if there are any cruises stopping in Greece at that time of year--somehow I doubt it.
Old Oct 1st, 2008, 11:27 PM

First buy two or three good tourist guides or go to a library.
G.
Old Oct 2nd, 2008, 12:09 AM

Crete. Crete. Crete.

One island, but big. Doesn't close for winter like some of the wee ones.

Has touristy bits and not touristy bits. Has good food and lots of local tavernas. Has cooking lcasses. Has tours. Has architecture- Chania has 4 types. Has history- Minoan, Greek, Mediaeval,and Modern.

see explorecrete.com