do you take a phrase book with you?

Old Feb 18th, 2005, 12:59 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
do you take a phrase book with you?

I am studying French now but my experience booking the hotels in French (I had to with one)..has left me thinking I need to bring a book of common phrases or a vocabulary book. There are small ones I know.

Opinions?...
Old Feb 18th, 2005, 01:02 PM

I will go to Switzerland, so I'll be taking at least 2 small books: French and German. I think it's a really good idea!
Old Feb 18th, 2005, 01:57 PM

There are several series of phrase books in .pdf and .lit format for PDAs and PPCs. In addition, Microsoft provides free language dictionaries to/from English and French, German, Spanish, and Italian.
Old Feb 18th, 2005, 01:59 PM

I always do. It generally provides a lot of hilarity.
Old Feb 18th, 2005, 02:24 PM

Yes, I always take a phrase book with me to any country, even if I know the language a bit. I don't take one to France because I know French, however, in countries where I know the language enough to speak it to some extent (ie, can construct simple sentences, know the basic verbs "to be" and "to have" and simple conjugations, and know at least some common vocabulary) I always take a mini dictionary with me as I usually find that more useful than a travelers' phrasebook.

Larousse, Collins and some other companies make "mini dictionaries" that have basically the entire content of a regular pocket paperback dictionary, but are very small and easy to pack and carry. I like both those brands, but Larousse has better quality paper and I would choose it if one can't see them in person.

I would never travel to a foreign country without a dictionary. Well, you won't believe this, but I like words and write for a living to some extent, and actually always have a dictionary around, people make fun of me (I keep one in my glove compartment, for example).
Old Feb 18th, 2005, 04:01 PM
Original Poster