Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Do I take my laptop!??? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/do-i-take-my-laptop-971712/)

sal_angel2 Mar 24th, 2013 04:26 AM

Do I take my laptop!???

I know this is stupid as I am going travelling but I am also training as a Photographer, I get carried away with taking photos and could easily take over 100 at each destination! Therefore I wanted to take my laptop to store my photo after each day to ensure they are safe. Is there a gadget to store and backup photos without having my laptop?

I know you are travel experts rather then tech experts but any ideas would help.

jamikins Mar 24th, 2013 04:49 AM

Multiple memory cards? Or an iPhone or iPad?

We always take our laptop on vacation with us and haven't had a problem yet (knock on wood)!

sal_angel2 Mar 24th, 2013 05:06 AM

Thanks that's good to know. just a bit nervous about trusting other people if I stay in hostels!!

hetismij2 Mar 24th, 2013 05:21 AM

There used to be image tanks, simple hard drives with a built in card reader. Sadly they don't exist anymore.

If you were staying in hotels I'd say take the laptop, but if you are staying in hostels I would seriously consider taking multiple SD cards. You can get them with huge amounts of memory nowadays and most DSLR camera will accept those. Make sure you lock each one as you swap it out, and don't fill it completely - that increases the risk of card error. Also have some sort of labelling system so you know which card you used when. Of course if you have a smart phone or GPS logger then you can log your trip and tag the photos later (or at the time if you have the right logger) Which makes life easier.

If you run out of cards they don't cost a fortune to buy. Certainly a lot less than a new laptop costs, and they are lighter to carry with you too!

jamikins Mar 24th, 2013 05:22 AM