Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Dining alone in Paris (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/dining-alone-in-paris-87550/)

Alma Sep 24th, 2000 12:40 PM

Dining alone in Paris

Will I stick out like a sore thumb eating alone in a Cafe/Resturant during the evening in Paris? I'm in my mid 50's and my husband is not going on this trip. It's my first time in Europe and I do like good food. I'm not used to eating alone, but I want to go to Paris and if that's the only way then...! <BR>Has anyone had a problem dining alone in resturants?

Bob Brown Sep 24th, 2000 01:39 PM

I don't think a woman dining alone would have any problems at a Paris restaurant. <BR>My general finding is that the Parisians tend to leave you alone. I asked my wife for her "take" on the situation. <BR>She agrees with me. She says she has seen more than one solo diner in our trips to Paris. I would stick to the nicer areas of town, however. I don't think you should go wandering around Montmarte at night, period. <BR>Our hotels the past two years have been in the 6th and 14th Arrondissements. <BR>Boulevard Montparnasse is well lighted at night and tends to be crowded. There are quite a few good restaurants between the Tower and the end of the avenue somewhere on the east side of the crossing with Boulevard Raspail.

Christina Sep 25th, 2000 12:48 PM