Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Switzerland: Saanen or Zweisimmen as base?

Old Mar 25th, 2016, 12:27 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey, all! I'm a newbie around here, and I saw a similar post, but I have some different circumstances, so here's my question:
Family of 6 (2 parents, 2 kids, 2 toddlers) traveling to Switzerland. We'll have 4 or 5 nights and we're not renting a car. Because of the complications of switching hotels with little ones, we want to choose one place to stay all 5 nights. It needs to have hiking, restaurants and train station within walking distance. I want to choose somewhere in the center of the Golden Pass rail (somewhere midway between Interlaken and Montreux). That way we can spend 2-3 days just in our base camp area exploring. Then we can spend one day riding down to Montreux and back, and another day riding up to Interlaken and back.
Does this sound reasonable? If so, which do you recommend? Saanen sounds more picturesque, but I'm guessing Zweisimmen dining out will be cheaper, and it's more central location.
Thanks!
Old Mar 25th, 2016, 12:29 AM
Original Poster

One more thing: we're actually planning to use airbnb rather than hotels, so we can have access to a kitchen. That way we can do breakfast at home, and prepare some of our own meals.
Old Mar 25th, 2016, 01:46 AM

Hi michalcrum,