Day trip to Bruges from Paris

Mar 18th, 2005, 01:00 PM
Original Poster

Day trip to Bruges from Paris

Any advice on a day trip to Bruge by train from Paris. Would we have to book tickets on the train before we arrive in Paris? It will be in August or early Sept. Has anyone done the day tour by bus? Thanks for any help.
Mar 18th, 2005, 01:37 PM
ira

Hi Lyn,

You can get discounted fares if you book 60 days in advance at www.sncf.com.

You can take the train to Brussels and backtrack to Bruges or train to Lille-France and take the local from there.

The latter way is about the same time at a little lower cost.

Mar 18th, 2005, 06:16 PM

Hi, Lyn,
I've never done a bus tour of any city, but I do sugg. you take the time and walk around. You get to soak in a whole lot and at your own pace. I have been to Bruges and being a culinary student I was on the hunt for any regional and yummy foods. Needless to say I wasn't disappointed. If you're a beer drinker, try the regional brews. They're incredible!
Goedenacht!
Mar 18th, 2005, 08:12 PM
tmh

In my opinion, Brugges warrants more than a day.
Mar 19th, 2005, 12:39 AM

This is a trip that will have you on the train for more than 2 and a half hours one-way, either via Brussels or via Lille!
It is doable, but is it also wise?
Mar 19th, 2005, 04:19 AM

I would spend the night in Brugges. You would spend 5 hours on the train in one day otherwise. Brugges is small enough to be walkable so unless you are unable to walk any distance I would not recommend a bus tour.
Mar 19th, 2005, 04:38 AM
ira

Hi Lyn,

We took the train up in the erlymorning and the train back after an early dinner.

Had a lovely day visiting Bruges.

Mar 19th, 2005, 09:11 AM