Cyprus or Egypt? Political conflicts??

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 19th, 2006, 10:29 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey all! I'm studying abroad in Italy, (Milan) and my spring break is coming. Most of the kids in the program are going to the Greek Islands, so I know those will be overrun with stupid crazy American students.

I wanted to go to Egypt, but my father said there was a political situation there. I'm not though, because Cyprus is closer to Iraq than Alexandria, Egypt is.

Do you have any insight or advice on this topic? Because flights to Egypt were MUCH cheaper than flights to Cyprus and as a student... well cheap is key.
Old Feb 19th, 2006, 10:53 PM

Let's put it this way

You are more likely to be murdered, assaulted, raped or robbed in "civilised" places like Washington DC.
Old Feb 20th, 2006, 01:44 AM
Original Poster

topping
Old Feb 20th, 2006, 02:21 AM

Violet - I was in Egypt (Luxor) last month and felt quite safe.

Tourism is their main source of income so they're very welcoming. Unless you're Danish I wouldn't have the slightest hesitation ...

I was there for a week ... and could have happily stayed 2-3

Steve
Old Feb 20th, 2006, 04:12 AM

"Unless you're Danish I wouldn't have the slightest hesitation ..."

There was an article in my newspaper just yesterday, titled: An Obviously Nordic Blond in Cairo´s Anti-Danish Demonstrations. In the middle of all their shouting and flag-burning people had been very smiling and friendy, helped him to a place where he could see better, and tried to practise their English: How are you? Do you enjoy Egypt?

I have been by myself in both Egypt and Cyprus. Cyprus is 1500 kilometres from Iraq, and there are the sea, and Syria and Lebanon in between. So it has nothing to do with the Iraq-situation. You would not even know that Iraq is there except from TV-news.