Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   CROATIA SEPT 24-OCT 5 ITINERARY (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/croatia-sept-24-oct-5-itinerary-1128812/)

dmh0728 Sep 5th, 2016 06:48 AM

CROATIA SEPT 24-OCT 5 ITINERARY

Hello fellow wanderlusts!

I am taking my first trip out of the US, and abroad; first trip is Croatia.

I booked a condo in split on the water as home base. I waited until end of September to book my trip in hopes of avoiding huge crowds. I have 10 days, 9 nights. I'm a very young 50, and I'm meeting a friend who is 25. We are not into the crazy bar scene. We really want to enjoy great scenery, food, bicycling, hiking, exploring, etc.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to explore. I'll be renting a car at some point, but want to get my bearings first and get an itinerary in order. I absolutely LOVE the outdoors and being very active. I'm a total foodie (I was a chef for many years), wine lover, artisan cocktails, etc. I'm looking for some great suggestions for food (every meal), spirited elixirs, and off the beaten path adventures & stays for the day-trips. Also, I am thinking the weather will be cooler. Will it be too cool for swimming? I'm hoping you can guide me.

Here are the locations (the stars are must-do's):

*****SPLIT (Homebase for the entire stay)
*****PLITVICE (I think I need to stay overnight?)
ISTRIA (It keeps popping up in forums, but not sure about this)
*****HVAR (worth staying overnight?)
*****DUBROVNIK (1 overnight)
KORKULA (worth the time?)

Thanks a MILLION! I am beyond thrilled for my first excursion outside of the US.
I am really looking forward to your suggestions! Dana

neckervd Sep 5th, 2016 09:10 AM

You can combine Plitvice (night 1) with Istria (nights 2 and 3).
You may also combine Korcula (night 1) with Dubrovnik (night 2).
Hvar Island is a short car ferry ride from Split.

kja Sep 5th, 2016 09:46 AM