Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Can anyone give me suggestions on where to dine in Paris?

Old Mar 25th, 2009, 09:58 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'll be in Paris (by myself) the evening of April 29th and need desperately help in choosing one place to eat. It is my first time in Paris, and since I don't have much time, I would like it to be memorable - within my budget . I need somewhere between Gare du Nord and Arc de Triomphe/Champs Elysees, I guess, since I'm arriving from that station, and then I would like to go to Laduree (Champs Elysees) to try their macaroons, and take a picture of the Arc de Triomphe - from a distance, and check out the Monoprix also on Champs Elysees, then take the bus to my hotel. I would like to spend no more than 35 euros (entree/plat/dessert), but I don't have to worry about wine and stuff since I don't drink alcoholic beverages. I would like to try traditional french cuisine and am particularly interested in duck and foie of some sort. I like cozy instead of trendy, but I enjoy beauty and good taste. And I would rather go to where locals go; don't like touristy places too much. I think I can remember enough of my French to get by if the waiters are sufficiently nice. I'm dreading the possibility of having to deal with rude Parisians. Please, help!! I have been researching for more than a month and have not been able to decide on anything feasible. Thanks in advance for your assistance.
Old Mar 25th, 2009, 10:33 AM
ira

Hey CBR,

Calm down. Compared to my first visit to Paris, the Parisians are down right affable.

Where is your hotel located?

What time are you arriving?

Are you planning on dinner before you go to your hotel?

Are you going to the Monoprix with a suitcase?

Old Mar 25th, 2009, 10:35 AM

Check out this thread

http://www.fodors.com/community/euro...cut-prices.cfm