Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Coolest, least humid region of France in summer

Feb 11th, 2004, 09:57 AM
Original Poster

To me, summer in Paris is unbearable without A/C. But maybe I should get out of the city. What part of France is the coolest and least humid in the summer? Do summers get increasingly hot there as the months pass by? In other words, is August lots hotter than June? I am looking particularly at Tours, Bordeaux and Nice.

Since I am so "allergic" to hot weather, I'd love to do France in the off season, but unfortunately, since I'm a high school teacher, all my travel is done in the summer months.
Feb 11th, 2004, 10:16 AM

Try Bretagne, is very picturesque..Even in the summer is much cooler than Paris or South France.
Feb 11th, 2004, 10:47 AM

Yes, August is considerably hotter than June.

Bordeaux can be very humid in mid- to late summer.

Tours - I don't know, I don't like the place so always avoid it.

Nice probably has the advantage of breezes off the Medeterranean, but if there's a canicule like last summer, it won't be spared.

I would head to Brittany or Normandy, especially Brittany, somewhere along the coast, like Vannes maybe.
Feb 11th, 2004, 10:53 AM
rex

Actually, for the lowest temperatures, go south - - to the highest elevations of the Alps. The Queyras is a great region. Ditto Briancon, Chamonix, Annecy, Talloires.

Best wishes,

Rex
Feb 11th, 2004, 10:54 AM

Thanks for posting this, crepes. I am wondering much the same.
Feb 11th, 2004, 10:55 AM

My vote is for Brittany.
Feb 11th, 2004, 11:25 AM