Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Converter question (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/converter-question-137417/)

Carrie Jul 8th, 2001 11:36 AM

Converter question

I just bought an adaptor/converter set for my upcomming trip to Europe rather than buying a dual voltage hair dryer and curling iron. I didn't realize that the set says it will convert 1600 watt appliances or under until I got it home. My hairdryer is 1850 watts. Will I be ok if I keep my hairdryer on low?

ttt Jul 8th, 2001 11:59 AM

Anyone?

z Jul 8th, 2001 12:12 PM

Depends on the wattage on the low setting. <BR> <BR>My bet is that regardless, you will burn it up and buy one of the European models that you will have for the rest ofyour life.

audrey Jul 8th, 2001 12:16 PM

Carrie, <BR> <BR>I'm no scientist but I wouldn't try it. The possibilities seem to be that you would either ruin your dryer or cause a fire (heaven forbid). If you are lucky, the dryer just wouldn't work. Besides, my personal experience is that, with a converter, the dryer puts out a lot less air. So, on low, you might be better off just having your companion blow on your head. Once, in Milan, I turned on my dryer and blew out all the power in our room. Point being that some places just don't have the power support our appliances anyway. <BR> <BR>Some hotels have dryers. I saw a post on here once that suggested buying a dryer over there, which I think I'll do myself next time. <BR> <BR>Audrey

Ed Jul 8th, 2001 01:18 PM