Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Connecting Flights On Two Tickets, Same Airline -- What If First Flight Delayed? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/connecting-flights-on-two-tickets-same-airline-what-if-first-flight-delayed-716984/)

111op Jun 29th, 2007 07:24 AM

Connecting Flights On Two Tickets, Same Airline -- What If First Flight Delayed?

Hi, what if I book two flights on two separate tickets on the same airline and miss the second flight due to delay on the first flight? Will they just put me on the next one? Or will I need to pay a penalty?

Thinking about SAS.

The problem is that I can't seem to book the flights I want exactly online. SAS's website doesn't allow openjaw though Kayak shows this option, and a travel agent hasn't answered. I'm thinking of booking the pieces individually.

Thanks.

Sue_xx_yy Jun 29th, 2007 07:35 AM

Look, I'm no lawyer, but I deal with contracts all the time, and this is how I read it:

Strictly speaking, with two separate tickets, you don't have a connection in the legal sense. It is a matter of the terms of the contract. The airline's part of performing the contract is to get you to the destination listed on the ticket; as for your part, you are responsible for getting to the point of origin on the ticket.

If getting to the destination as listed on the ticket involves more than one flight, then you have a connection, i.e. there is only one point of origin for which you are responsible. As for any intervening points, the airline is contractually obligated to underwrite the cost of finding you the next available flight if due to delays you miss the connection.