Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Complete novice planning a trip to Italy (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/complete-novice-planning-a-trip-to-italy-841678/)

luvmyguys May 24th, 2010 02:17 PM

Complete novice planning a trip to Italy

We are planning a trip to Italy this fall, and I have a few questions. The travel agent that has booked a cruise for us recommended TourCrafters to book a (flexible, I don't want to spend every moment with a tour guide) tour with all the hotel arrangements. The idea of a tour company - at least a flexible one - appeals to me because I have no idea what is out there or what to look for, and that could be alleviated with a reputable tour company (hopefully? Please correct my novice self if I'm mistaken.)

We'd be booking a land only package, as we really want to fly Continental (or partners), and we're wanting to visit Rome and Florence (seven night stay).

I'm still slightly torn over whether or not the tour company is worth it for us. I get that experienced travelers are better able to book every detail, but that's not us right now. How easy/difficult would it be to book decent, reputable hotels in those two cities for one who's never been there?

The second question - travel insurance. We are looking at Access America, after getting their name off of the Continental website. We are looking at one of their products that isn't the standard Continental Product (better coverage). Does anyone have experiences with this company or recommendations to make?

Suggestions? Help!

rolohof_duvall May 24th, 2010 02:27 PM

luvmyguys,