Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Complete Idiot's Guide to German (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/complete-idiots-guide-to-german-705843/)

LLindaC May 17th, 2007 06:35 AM

Complete Idiot's Guide to German

Having completed Level One and Two I am now a graduate of this course. I know why they named it that. I sound like a COMPLETE Idiot speaking German. I think once you hit 50, it's a waste to learn anything, right? I've learned to ask where the toliet is and how to order 2 beers. Nothing else matters. Seriously, though, the little workbooks called "German" (pick your language) in 10 days has been a real good tool for travlers. Plus my teens think it's cute that Mommy has a workbook and is doing homework. Wunderbar!

PalenQ May 17th, 2007 06:58 AM

Ya-Vole!

quokka May 17th, 2007 09:49 AM

There used to be a cute commercial spot on German TV a while ago, advertising a certain type of Bavarian beer (I don't remember which brand):

Three well dressed smiling guys from India were sitting in a Bavarian beer garden. One had a phrase book and said to the waitress (in German): "No - I - do not - want - to - buy - this - carpet." The waitress looked puzzled for a moment, then nodded and brought them three beers, and they were happy.

Conclusion: You've already learned the two most important things: how to order a beer, and how to get rid of it afterwards...
Learning something new is never a waste. Have fun! This is a game!

P.S. Most Germans speak decent English.

LLindaC May 17th, 2007 10:29 AM