Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Common prices for summer airfare from Boston? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/common-prices-for-summer-airfare-from-boston-683504/)

beachgirl86 Feb 27th, 2007 02:48 PM

Common prices for summer airfare from Boston?

Hi everyone,

I just returned from a week in Paris, and am in love! I'm a teacher, so I am lucky enough to have summers off. I don't know if it will be possible as DH and I already have 2 trips planned for this summer, but I was wondering what airfare usually goes for in the summer to Europe from Boston. Paris, Rome, London, etc...Right now, flights are over $1000 pp. I know it's high season, but is this the kind of prices I should expect? TIA!

beachgirl86 Feb 28th, 2007 07:55 AM

ttt

Can anyone weigh in?

isabel Feb 28th, 2007 08:01 AM

I'm afraid so. Things have been going up slightly each year, I really don't see them going down. The last several years I've paid In the $990+ range from NY to Italy, Switzerland, Portugal, Denmark, etc. I live in western Mass so always check prices for both Boston and NY and Boston is usually a tiny bit higher. Four years ago I flew Boston to Ireland for under $700 but I don't think that's happening anymore. Ireland is usually the cheapest place to fly from Boston, with England next. But if you can stay for a couple of weeks or more, than when you figure the cost of the ticket on a per day basis it's really not that bad. I just figure it's worth it, and maybe cut back a bit on hotels or meals.

letour Feb 28th, 2007 08:08 AM