Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

College student's first Europe trip: Rome/Florence vs Prague/Budapest?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 18th, 2018, 10:18 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everyone! I am a college student traveling to Europe for the first time this spring. I'll be studying abroad at a university in England from April to June and wanted to do a week of traveling before the term begins. I am torn between going to Italy (Rome and Florence) or Eastern/Central Europe (Prague and Budapest). Rome and Florence seem like the classic choice for a first-time trip to Europe and I would be thrilled to go to Italy, but I am worried about expenses - prices for food and attractions seem very high. I wonder if I should go there later in life, when I'll have more money to blow and maybe could enjoy it more fully. However, it seems somehow wrong to go to Europe and not see Italy! I've wanted to visit eastern Europe for a while now - I'm very interested in its history and culture, particularly seeing the remnants of Communism.

We'll be traveling from around the end of March through the first week of April - 9 days total. This will include Easter.

I will be traveling with my boyfriend, so we can split AirBnBs to get fairly cheap accommodation in either place.

Could any more seasoned travelers give me advice on this decision? I'd also appreciate tips on how to not break the bank traveling through Italy, too!

Thank you so much.
Old Feb 18th, 2018, 10:42 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Either would work and can be done on a budget. The main issue would be Rome over Easter when things are more crowded and more expensive - plus a lot of the cheaper accommodations will already be booked up but still doable. You have all sorts of choices -- if these are the two main regions that interest you then basically flip a coin.
Old Feb 18th, 2018, 10:53 AM