clubbing in England? extasy?

Old Dec 17th, 2000, 09:21 AM
Jepsica

clubbing in England? extasy?

Hi,
I am a college student who will be going to school in England for the next 5 months. I like dance music and would like to find out what/where the clubbing scene is like and how dangerous it is. I am a little worried about E and the party drugs. any help?

Old Dec 17th, 2000, 09:41 AM
Sheila

Hi.

I think you need to be alittle more geographically specific to get a real answer.

As to the drugs, if you don't take them, they're nothing to worry about

Old Dec 17th, 2000, 09:54 AM
jepsica

Hi thanks for repling. I will be an hour north of London in Lincolnshire. I would go to London, Lincoln, York, and maybe Leeds. I'm mostly worried that it will be about the drugs and not the music. Any more help?

Old Dec 17th, 2000, 10:23 AM
jez

I think ecstacy is a lot less prevalent in English clubs than it used to be -(due to scares about its safety, etc) It also depends on which clubs you go to - and what music they play (fast techno clubs tend to be more 'druggy') whereas house music attracts a wider range of people. Maybe the thing to do is to look at www.timeout.com's club reviews

Old Dec 18th, 2000, 03:20 AM
Nigel Doran

Try Leeds and Sheffield and Manchester. Colleges from smaller places like Lincoln often run coaches to these bigger cities.
Expect the booze to flow even if the pills are not being popped. U K college life centres on the bar and on alcohol consumption in general.
Also, I agree with Sheila. If you don't take anything, you will be fine.
BUT take care not to get your drinks spiked with rohypnol. According to the newspapers here, this is a growing threat.

Old Dec 18th, 2000, 03:56 AM
in the know

Ecstacy is EVERYWHERE on the british clubbing scene and is usually pretty damned good. There will be dealers in the club, expect to pay about 10. Drink plenty of water (don't overdo it).

In london at least cocaine is also very poular, around 50 a gramme.