Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Cinque Terre? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/cinque-terre-483846/)

Allison12 Nov 2nd, 2004 07:43 AM

Cinque Terre?

Does anyone have anything to share on Cinque Terre? Would this be a nice honeymoon spot? Could I travel to Florence on a day trip?

kfusto Nov 2nd, 2004 07:57 AM

I am just back from a daytrip to CT, a place I have wanted to visit for years. I was crushed with disappointment! We got off the train and were immediately immersed in a sea of Americans with Rick Steeves guide book in hand. This was in Vernazza. Yes, it is pretty but we both decided it was just not for. We hopped the next train going north and spend a lovely day in Le Spezia before returning to our lovely hotel in Rapallo.

So my vote is a big NO on the CT but then I have been travelling to Italy since 1974 and have some pretty strong opinions.

That being said, you will likely get many more responses that disagree with me!

kmoncrief Nov 2nd, 2004 08:10 AM

there is a ton of info on Cinque Terre.Just input under search. Personally I wouldnt want to stay there for a honeymoon,but a day there for the hikes is great.Some people have stayed a day or two,that would work too.Its bascially a beachy touristy area.

dln Nov 2nd, 2004 08:18 AM

Several members of my family frequently travel to Italy and they are all of the same opinion about Cinque Terre as kfusto. My parents commented that seven or so years ago you could actually enjoy Cinque Terre, but now it's overrun with Rick Steves lemmings, er, tourists.

kismetchimera Nov 2nd, 2004 08:41 AM

I was in CT last year for 8 days with my daughter and grandson..We rented a nice apt. in Manarola, which if you want to have peace and quiet at night, is the place to be.
We just loved there..We walked, swam, sat in the rocks admiring the gorgeous scenery , and was so peaceful..