Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Car in Florence? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/car-in-florence-589624/)

didi Feb 9th, 2006 09:39 AM

Car in Florence?

If you have a rental car in Tuscany is it worth taking the train from whatever hilltown you stay instead of trying to drive in Florence? I heard its not easy driving there.

nytraveler Feb 9th, 2006 11:01 AM

If you are already staying in the countryside - and you can get reasonable train service - then certainly take the train vs a car into Florence. The only time it would be better to take a car is if you are planning on making other stops along the way.

(This is my major issue with train travel. I always end up seeing something out the window I want to go and look and - and then I'm trapped on the stupid train. With a car - you can just go wherever you please whenever you please. But for a basic trip from A to B - train is fine.)

eroz Feb 9th, 2006 11:06 AM

I'd drop the car off as soon as you get to Florence. We rented ours on the way out and I would not recommend driving there. Poor signage, vespas everywhere, crowds, not worth it and you don't need a car to get around Florence!

basingstoke Feb 9th, 2006 11:17 AM