Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Can two people have the same screen name on this forum? (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/can-two-people-have-the-same-screen-name-on-this-forum-638464/)

Marsha Aug 11th, 2006 12:44 PM

Can two people have the same screen name on this forum?

I am a registered member, posting under the name "Marsha." For amusement this afternoon, I ran a search of my name. (I have never done this before, but thought I would see exactly when I first posted and how many times.) I found my previous posts, but I also found another "Marsha" who has been to Prague and Rome. Although I am very jealous of her, I would like to know if there can be two of us with the same screen name. The post couldn't have come from my computer, as my husband isn't really interested in posting (and he has never been to Prague or Rome!).

laclaire Aug 11th, 2006 01:01 PM

Perhaps the posts are old and she has since signed off of the board? The same screenname should not be possible (when you choose, they run a search and tell you if it is taken or not), so check the dates and make sure you are not missing a symbol or something in the name.

janisj Aug 11th, 2006 01:09 PM

my first guess was the other Marsha was pre-registration. But I just took a look and the "other" Marsha (assuming you have not posted about Rome) is a current poster.

This is really odd. If you are concerned - you can e-mail the editors and see what's up.

MarciaMarciaMarcia Aug 11th, 2006 01:14 PM

Hope it's not my sn causing the problem. Different spelling. I can re-register under something else if it's a problem.

FainaAgain Aug 11th, 2006 01:17 PM

I only found "marshagenn"... can somebody please post a link to "the other Marsha"?

(and I hope I am unique ;) )

Christina Aug 11th, 2006 01:20 PM

don't worry, you are allowed to be Marcia... I thought your name was funny.